



Erasmus+ 2021 STUDENT MOBILITY FOR STUDIES (SMS) ENTRY AND VISA INFORMATION

The Erasmus+ programme is no longer a pure EU programme. Students of all nationalities can participate in this programme (provided that they are fully enrolled for studies with degree at the sending university). There are countries participating in the Erasmus+ programme that aren't members of the European Union, some of them aren't even a part of the Schengen area or the EFTA.

Whether students require a visa for an Erasmus+ stay to study at an Erasmus+ partner university or not depends on both the nationality of the individual student and the status of the host country (overview of countries on page 2).

	Host country is EU country	Host country is EFTA country		Host country is not EU or EFTA country
Students are citizens of an EU country	No visa required	usually no visa required (residence permit after entry)		Visa required
Students are citizens of an EFTA country	Usually no visa required (residence permit after entry)			Usually visa required
Students are neither citizen of an EU nor EFTA country	Visa yes/no depends on the implementation of DIRECTIVE (EU) 2016/801 in the host country		Visa required (unless a visa exemption is provided by national agreements between the home country and the host country)	
	Before leaving the country: Apply for an extension of your residence permit in Germany beyond the duration of your studies abroad (permission to return)!			

- Students are individually responsible for applying for the visa.
- Costs for visa application cannot be reimbursed from Erasmus+ programme funds.
- In any case, apply for a student visa. Do not enter the host country with a tourist visa!
- Students who aren't citizens of an EU country and have a residence permit for studies in Germany may not need to apply for a visa in the host country, if that country has implemented the EU directive 801 of May 2016. Further information: <u>https://www.bamf.de/SharedDocs/Anlagen/EN/MigrationAufenthalt/flyer-rest-</u><u>mobilitaetsrechte.pdf?___blob=publicationFile&v=7</u>
- In addition to the student visa in the host country, students who aren't citizens of an EU country may have to extend their student visa in Germany so that it is still valid at least until their return to Germany. They have to return within 6 months, otherwise a re-entry permit must be applied for in advance.
- After arriving in the host country, there are usually certain registration formalities to be observed, most of which also affect EU citizens in EU countries (e.g. registering your place of residence, applying for a residence permit). Information on this can be obtained from the host universities.

Information on embassies, consulates general, visa and entry requirements for the various countries can be found on the website of the Federal Foreign Office:

https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/en







Erasmus+ programme countries	EU country	EFTA country = European Free Trade Association	Candidate countries	Schengen country*
Belgium	EU			Schengen
Bulgaria	EU			
Denmark	EU			(Schengen)
Germany	EU			Schengen
Estonia	EU			Schengen
Finland	EU			Schengen
France	EU			Schengen
Greece	EU			Schengen
Ireland	EU			
Iceland		EFTA		Schengen
Italy	EU			Schengen
Croatia	EU			
Latvia	EU			Schengen
Liechtenstein		EFTA		Schengen
Lithuania	EU			Schengen
Luxemburg	EU			Schengen
Malta	EU			Schengen
Northern Macedonia			Accession	
Netherlands	EU			Schengen
Norway		EFTA		Schengen
Austria	EU			Schengen
Poland	EU			Schengen
Portugal	EU			Schengen
Romania	EU			
Sweden	EU			Schengen
Serbia			Accession	
Slovakia	EU			Schengen
Slovenia	EU			Schengen
Spain	EU			Schengen
Czech Republic	EU			Schengen
Turkey			Accession	
Hungary	EU			Schengen
United Kingdom (UK)			Withdrawal	
Cyprus	EU			

*Schengen agreements in practice (brief description):

- Citizens of the Schengen countries are allowed to cross the internal Schengen borders without identity checks.
- Holders of a Schengen visa (visa category "C") may stay and move freely within the entire territory of the Schengen states within the scope of its validity.
- Third-country nationals who are holders of a national residence permit issued by a Schengen state may also stay on the territory of the other Schengen states within the scope of its validity for up to 90 days within a period of 180 days. This also applies to holders of a "national" visa issued by a Schengen state (visa category "D").

Detailed information: https://ec.europa.eu/home-affairs/what-we-do/policies/schengen-borders-and-visa_en

