Hochschule Landshut Introduces Its New Senate

The Senate of Hochschule Landshut held its inaugural meeting in October.

The Senate is the central body of the university responsible for matters related to research, education, and teaching. Among its duties are making decisions on university regulations, defining research priorities, and providing input on appointment proposals. Senate members also serve as members of the University Council, which establishes the university's constitution and provides strategic advice.

Hochschule President Prof. Dr. Fritz Pörnbacher invited the newly elected members to the inaugural meeting on October 10, 2023. He welcomed the new members and then handed over to the university chancellor, Dr. Johann Rist. Under his supervision as election supervisor, Prof. Dr. Konstantin Ziegler from the Faculty of Computer Science was elected as Chairman, and Prof. Dr. Hannah Jörg from the Faculty of Interdisciplinary Studies was elected as Vice-Chairwoman.

Other members from the professorial ranks include Prof. Dr. Christian Faber from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Business Engineering, Prof. Dr. Volker Weinbrenner from the Faculty of Mechanical and Civil Engineering, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Welter from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Business Engineering, and Prof. Dr. Jürgen Wunderlich from the Faculty of Computer Science.

Astrid Heindel represents the scientific staff in the new Senate, and Florian Federmann is the representative of the science-supporting staff. Students are represented by Antonia Götz and Konstantin Wüstner. The University Women's Representative, Prof. Dr. Diana Hehenberger-Risse, remains a voting member of the Senate in her role.

Photo: Hochschule Landshut
(Free to use with source attribution)